Bare Window

It’s just a window, a window from the ceiling to the wooden floor.  A everyday window in a coffee shop.  I am sitting beside the window.  When I look out I see a small part of the world.

I see the cars going from east to west and back again.  People are walking on the overly large sidewalks, fast pace as it is cold outside.

It is January, the sky is blue with a touch of white.  The colors of snow.  I am drinking my coffee, reading my book and watching people.

I am looking outside when two young guys move towards the window and throw down their bundles, right in front of me.

Some people might call them “street people”, “hobos” or maybe even “bums”.  I believe that some of their luck in this world ran out and instead of going left, they went right.  They start to pull out and get ready their big sleeping bags that keep them warm at night.   Hats, gloves and blankets cover their bodies while they are asking for money.  They look so cold compare to others who are running from place to place.

There are two males in front of the window right now, maybe more will join later?  I keep wondering about their stories, their lives and their futures?

Here I sit in a warm coffee shop, drinking a coffee and the only thing that separates them and myself is a pane of glass.  I have read and heard that most people are just one pay check away from being homeless?

I also noticed that when someone gave them money or food they were very thankful for it.  I had a front row sit that day to view a life style I knew little about.  When one got anything, they would come back to their space, right in front of me.  I heard them speaking about that person.  ( not by choice, I couldn’t help overhearing)

I believe that it doesn’t matter if you are rich or poor, us humans are the same.  We all need the basics to survive.  Love to guide us and friends to nurture us.

So, if we are all the same and need the same things to survive, then why are some more luckier than others?

About fromrochellespen

I am a content writer, my passion is writing. My background is marketing/communications. I have written a Direct Mailing Postcard for a Real Estate Agent's campaign. Right now, I am volunteering my time at a local University's radio station as their writer and I also volunteer, as a weekly columnist on a website for pet lovers
This entry was posted in My Own Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

