The Cactus

Some people carry with them, an item that means something special.  It could be something small like a key chain.  It could be something that was given to you by a close friend, parent or relative.  It could also be a pet, I have seen people carry a puppy, a snake and other critters under their coats.

I have seen people carry their small dogs on the transit in those easy to carry bags.  The bags with the mesh screens. 

I used to carry something also.  It was alive and grew slowly over time.  I carried it in my jacket and I always had a special spot for it in the place I called home.  It was given to me by a boyfriend that I loved.

It was a plant.  It really was a cactus.  It stayed with me for years till that long ago day….when I noticed it had a disease.   Something was eating it.  I couldn’t save it.  The disease started at the top of the cactus and ate the most fleshy part first.  Then it moved down towards the soil till the whole cactus looked black and dead.

It was a sad day for me when I had to toss it out.  That cactus was a link for me, between one life to another.  It was important plant.  When it died, I realized that my older life was finished.  That older part of me was done and I needed to start looking ahead not just looking behind.

It was still a sad day when I tossed the cactus out.  I still think on that day, I grew a bit more in the mature department.  On that day I noticed that life exists in compartments or chapters.  When one chapter or compartment is finish, then the next chapter takes over.  Sometimes right away. 

Yes, I also miss that boyfriend.  We still email each other once in a while.

About fromrochellespen

I am a content writer, my passion is writing. My background is marketing/communications. I have written a Direct Mailing Postcard for a Real Estate Agent's campaign. Right now, I am volunteering my time at a local University's radio station as their writer and I also volunteer, as a weekly columnist on a website for pet lovers
This entry was posted in My Own Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

