Lonesome George

I read a sad story today.  I read this story and then I wrote about it in my column, The Weird and Wonderful.

Lonesome George died this week.  On June 24th, 2012 he took his last breath. 

If you never heard of him or if his name rings a bell..Lonesome George was a tortoise.  His home was on Puerto Ayora Island, part of the Galapagos region.

He lived to be around 100 years old.  As a tortoise he looked much older.  It took two strong men to carry him out of  his home after he died.

Lonesome George was the last of the Pinta Island Tortoises.  Scientists have tried to get him to mate.  It never worked.  Maybe Lonesome George knew he was the last of his kind?

I never saw him in real life, but I have seen him on TV.  What a beautiful animal, so primitive, so perfect in all ways.  I would have love to follow him for a few hours.  I wonder if he was larger in person?

We do this all the time, don’t we?  We wish we got to it or seen it before it is gone, forever.  This is how I feel about this tortoise.  I really missed out on a special sight and a magical moment for me.  Don’t tell anyone but I would have liked to sit on his shell when he travelled!  What a way to see the island though his eyes. 

I felt like the earth lost something really important on that day.  Could it be that the tortoise linked me back to the dinosaur age?  Or could it be that earth doesn’t have many more huge tortoises like Lonesome George?

All I know is that Lonesome George was the last of his kind.  By dying he made the world poorer.  His species is now extinct.

Rest in Peace, Lonesome George.

Maybe there is a lesson in all of this?  Maybe we can realize that nothing lasts forever.  Go for your dreams.

I wished I saw this tortoise when he was breathing, but now I will never see him in person.  My loss.

If you have a chance to see or visit any new places with new foods, new animals and new and awe inspiring scenes, then go for it!  Live life to its full-est!

It is not to late!  Consider this:  we are still finding new species of animals in the jungles and surrending areas of Indonesia.  There are still mysteries to check out and animals to be awed over.

Maybe this is the lesson Lonesome George left us on June 24th, 2012?

About fromrochellespen

I am a content writer, my passion is writing. My background is marketing/communications. I have written a Direct Mailing Postcard for a Real Estate Agent's campaign. Right now, I am volunteering my time at a local University's radio station as their writer and I also volunteer, as a weekly columnist on a website for pet lovers
This entry was posted in My Own Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lonesome George

  1. societyred says:

    Love your writing! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

