The Garden and It’s Harvest

It is a beautiful day out!

The sun isn’t shining, the birds are to busy eating worms to care about anything else.  It has been raining most of the day and I have this ‘happy place thing’ feeling.

What could this happy feeling come from, you ask?  Well, I will tell you.  I wish I could sing first.   I would write an opera for it, instead of writing all this on my blog, I would have famous opera singers, singing my feelings to the world, baring my soul to everyone.

  First, yesterday, picture it.  Focus on a picture of a garden with many garden plots that stand higher than the ground.  Look into your minds’ eye for the corner plot, not that one, the next one.  See where the beans and the peas plants are turning yellow?  That’s the plot!

The peas/beans might be turning yellow but did you notice the carrots are still growing?  All 5 of them!  The chives are doing fine but sometimes they look dead, while other times they looked like they grew over night!  I could tell your inner eye is glancing towards the two flowering plants, which are still in my plot.  My little story is about the plant I haven’t told you about yet..So here goes…

See the low strawberry plant?  I bet you can imagine the plant before your eyes, all the green-soon-to-be strawberry colour fruit.  That is right, my first little story is about me eating my first home-grown-strawberry-that-I-picked-from-my-own-garden! Yeah!  It was the biggest, juiciest and lush-est berry I ever had in my whole life!  The color was superb, the texture was like the goddess themselves touched it with their lips.  If I could have I would have put that berry under glass, to look at it for years!  My first home grown berry!

A few days ago in my garden I noticed I had tons of beans and peas.  Like the great gardener that Martha Stewart is, I pretended to know what to do.  I picked all the beans and peas.  I swear, there were tons to pick, I was there for at least 2 hours picking, picking and once more-picking.  I hope you are still following my adventures though your minds’ eye?

I put all of the beans into a bag and then I head off towards my home.  I place the peas and beans in a cool place and soon forgot about them.

Next Day…….

Once a month, my friend and I get together and go shopping.  We joke, we laugh, we sing and we have a fantastic time!  I told her about my garden and she was amazed that I have one.  She considers me not the nourishing type.

When she is about to leave my place, I brought out the bag of beans and peas and gave them to her.  I didn’t realize that I would feel so dam good for giving her some beans.

My garden will help to fed her family, what an amazing thought that is!  It lifted me so high, it wasn’t funny.  I realized then that my garden just wasn’t for me to relax in, but was a usable food producing plot of land.  I could feed hungry people with this plot.  What a feeling it gave me to hand over some beans to her, what utter joy it gave me.

I can’ really explain the massive feelings I got for my garden.  I didn’t really think I would get anything out of it except dirty finger nails.  I water it ever second day, I speak to the plants (when noone is around, I am not crazy, just plant happy)  I am learning about the soil, about winter planting and I am meeting so many new and exciting people.

This still can make a great opera!

 

About fromrochellespen

I am a content writer, my passion is writing. My background is marketing/communications. I have written a Direct Mailing Postcard for a Real Estate Agent's campaign. Right now, I am volunteering my time at a local University's radio station as their writer and I also volunteer, as a weekly columnist on a website for pet lovers
This entry was posted in Check Out My Other Views In Uncategorized! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

