I Am A Writer, Are You?

What are we? Just different kinds of writers?

I am always looking for any writing experiences, lately for money.  The websites are many.  If place in a straight line, all the job websites for writers can go around the earth…..again and again!  That in itself is a mind bending thought!

I go to these sites and lo and behold it happens once again!  You may know that feeling as it creeps up your spine, till your fingers twist with rage and you need another glass of wine.  Welcome to the word game.  Remember it from last time, when you realized that you are not just a writer but a blank writer. 

A writer is just a writer, I thought.  That was before I put my first pen to paper and this writing world got real.  I never knew, I was totally innocent of all of these names!

There is the creative writer, blogger, screen writer, content or freelance writer.  Don’t forget the tech writer, editor/writer and the communication expert.  There are still more……. journalists, ghostwriters, article writers, columnists, copywriters and interviewer writer.  Should I see if there are more……..?  How about the poets and authors?

By now I think you get my draft?  So many kinds of writers and not enough time to be them all!  How to figure it all out?

Writing  to me is a kind of lifestyle.  It is a choice by me and the small tiny voice inside my head that wants to express itself, everyday and all day!  I believe that a writer needs to have a thick skin.  I believe a writer needs to be a great storyteller.  I believe that a writer needs to be learning all the time.  Learning to a writer is like ice cream to a cone.   How can anyone write anything if there is no new learning going on?  Learning is grammar.  To know a noun from a verb is a need to know.  A writer’s good friend is ‘spell check.’  To increase and pass on knowledge is a writer’s pledge.  Yes, a writer usually sees “The Big Picture,” no matter how big it is!

Writers I think, know that they have the special touch with a pen or computer key and even if we live to be 100, we all know that our position in life is to write.  Write what, is the question.

I looked up on-line, what does a person need to have to become a writer?  As you guessed, there are a lot of answers to this question.  I did try to cut it down to  3 points.  Talent– Learning– Diligence.  This is 3 points that I feel are needed to be able to put pen to paper.  Some other writers will hand you a list of different skills/traits and  personality types.  I believe that everything that a writer is fits under these 3 topics. 

As I re-read this so far, I am amazed that I didn’t answer my question yet?  A writer is a writer, true but there is more.  Yes talent and such is important but maybe the names are not?  Is it ok to be called a writer, not a content writer, blogger or such?  Maybe the titles are not important to a writer?  I have found that using a title like freelancer or content can confuse more people than the world’s weather right now!  So, maybe it is up to each writer to pick out their own names based on their experiences?  What do you want to be called?  But don’t totally listen to me because……..I am only a content ..er..no…I am just…a……..freelanceer…….no….maybe…..er….grrrrrr……no..I am just a columni….st……..no..no..no……..er…..er….grrrrrrrrr!!!!

About fromrochellespen

I am a content writer, my passion is writing. My background is marketing/communications. I have written a Direct Mailing Postcard for a Real Estate Agent's campaign. Right now, I am volunteering my time at a local University's radio station as their writer and I also volunteer, as a weekly columnist on a website for pet lovers
This entry was posted in Check Out My Other Views In Uncategorized! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

