The Bubble Burst

My life right now is full of ups and downs. I guess this happens when the bubble bursts and you realize that your family is not full of peaches and cream corn and lively picnics! I am realizing that my parents have/had flaws and my sisters also carry that gene. (Could this mean I am the only perfect one?)

When I was little, my parents were always right, no matter what the topic was about. I got to live my life thinking my mom was the first Jewish Virgin Saint and life was good! My parents in ‘bed’ together, never in a million years!

I hit ‘the age’ recently. The age when you start to see that your parents are real people. I am trying to picture my parents as a man and women, a guy and gal or as young adults having a family of their own.
Why can’t the fairy tale just go on? Why does life suck your fantasy into a vacuum cleaner of despair and maturity? I don’t want my mom to be a real person! Heavens sake she is my mom! Will always be my mom, not a real person!!!

People today blame some stuff on their parents. If I had…If you saw when I was little…..when you…….blah and blah and blah.
My parents gave me the only thing people can pass on- their morals, their views on life, love and the world. To me, my parents gave me that and their lessons have kept me on the right road. They helped me to become the person I am today.
Every generation is taught to teach their kids in a different manner. I grew up in the 60’s and 70’s. Things were different back then. Stuff that our parents did would be considered abuse today, like spanking.
I believe that it is easy to put blame on parents for things that are wrong in ones’ life. Why blame yourself when it is easier to blame another for any faults?
To that I say ‘grow up’

It is not the jeans you didn’t get at age 10 that makes you a person today. Its not the sleep-over party you missed out on that makes you- it is what your parents gave you!

My own parents were and still are awesome. They were big and strong when I was little and as I grew up they helped me become a mature female. A female who is loved by a few, has good friends and is a member of the community. A person who knows right from wrong, good from bad and lives a life on the right track. That is what a parent does. That is what my parents gave me.

About fromrochellespen

I am a content writer, my passion is writing. My background is marketing/communications. I have written a Direct Mailing Postcard for a Real Estate Agent's campaign. Right now, I am volunteering my time at a local University's radio station as their writer and I also volunteer, as a weekly columnist on a website for pet lovers
This entry was posted in My Own Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

