Where Did All the Coffee-House Voices Go?

I might be missing something.

When people ask people to meet for coffee, I always thought that there would be a heavy dose of good conversation. Plus, a good cup of java.
I am wrong, once again.

Take today for an example.
I am sitting in the early morning hours in a rather famous coffee-house and right in front of me where two girls.
Maybe they were in grade 10, 11 or in grade 12. I cannot gauge someone’s age when mine stays at 25!

I leaned closer to hear any juicy gossip about anything when nothing happens..
They both turned on their i-pads or i-phones or cordless phones or…
and they started to text other people.

No wonder our world is a mess! We are losing the art of speaking face to face.
I wondered if this was just an odd day at a coffee shop, so I galloped around town for the day. I poked my head into lots of coffee shops and lo and behold, no one speaks anymore.

Yes, they all sit together at a small round coffee table. Why? I realized that it does one thing-holds your coffee cup. I remember when a coffee shop table had on it:
people holding hands
school books
information that you were sharing around the table
yesterdays, todays and last weeks newspapers
sugar packets/ sugar containers
and tons of napkins

Is this our coffee-house future? Will I spend the rest of my days having to listen to old music that is piped in from music heaven?
Because I hate it when I start to hum a bar or two!

It seems to me that our society is a bit off the marker. Why isn’t speaking face to face important anymore?
It is the foundation of life. I want to know about the person in front of me, wearing the milk moustache.
Not the person far away. Why sit together holding up a perfectly good table/chair combo, when they don’t even communicate with each other?

Does this bug anyone else or am I the only one?
I guess times do change and people do too but I have to tell you all–I do miss the coffee shop voices!

About fromrochellespen

I am a content writer, my passion is writing. My background is marketing/communications. I have written a Direct Mailing Postcard for a Real Estate Agent's campaign. Right now, I am volunteering my time at a local University's radio station as their writer and I also volunteer, as a weekly columnist on a website for pet lovers
This entry was posted in My Own Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Where Did All the Coffee-House Voices Go?

  1. SocietyRed says:

    Rochelle,
    Add to the non-communication the sensory deprivation of the ever-present earbuds and headphones. I’ve always wanted to have a device that would disable electronics at times like these. Only for ten minutes or so, to observe.
    Red

Leave a comment